Missing Sherlock?

Leave a comment

January 23, 2017 by elnadesbookchat

Because we have to wait at least another long year (possibly longer) for Masterpiece to air new episodes I thought I would write about some good reading alternatives to get you through the wait.

First up is one of my favorites:

sherlock-holmes-the-legend-begins

Summery from Macmillan:

The year is 1868, and Sherlock Holmes is fourteen, but he’s already solving some serious mysteries. In this thrilling mystery series, we witness Sherlock’s true education in detection, as he discovers the dastardly crimes of some brilliantly sinister villains.

This series is the only one that was commissioned by the Arthur Conan Doyle estate, and it is brilliant.  Andrew Lane has come up with stories that explain how Sherlock developed his skills that are authentic and based on the originals.  There is a lot to like about the series, and in the Doyle style they are exciting and have lots of puzzles to solve.  Young Sherlock is an engaging teen who has seen and experienced a lot in his young years, but manages to always come out on top.

This series unfortunately is a little hard to find, and seems to have had some name changes as well.  There are 8 books all together but only 6 so far have been published in the US, the last one in 2015.  I’m hoping Macmillan gets around to getting the last two out as I am eager to see how the rest of Sherlock’s teenage years turns out.

Here is a video for the first book:

Charlotte Holmes series by Brittany Cavallaro

The first book came out about a year ago, and I really enjoyed it.  I am not a big fan of books that have a relative or descendant of Sherlock and or Watson as the main characters or worse just use the names and the general idea of their stories and write something that really doesn’t relate to the originals at all.  But this series is different.  The author is also a Sherlock Holmes fan and has inserted some nice touches into this story.  Charlotte and Jamie are both unique to themselves as well as paying homage to the original characters.  The first book has not received the attention it deserves and I hope when the second one comes out on February 14th, the series will get more attention (personally I think it is the covers  that are holding this series back, they could do better) There are lots of nice touches that reflect back on the original stories, such as names and places, that is fun for other Sherlock fans to find.

Here is another video for the first book:

Of course I always recommend that if you really want to know about Sherlock you should read the original stories.  I confess that I have not read all of the short stories, but I hope to one day.  When I’m watching the TV show I like to use this next book to remind me which stories they are basing the episode on.the-sherlock-holmes-book

In the DK style, they summarize all of the stories, plus give lots of anecdotes about the history of the stories and other TV shows and movies related to the Sherlock phenomenon. Very nicely done and a nice easy intro to the original stories.

Finally I would like to recommend this short story collection which came out a few months ago.  This book is more for the adult Sherlock fan, but older teens will enjoy it too.  echoesofsherlockholmes-1

Summary from Amazon:

In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Les Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

To the editors’ great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes’s adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!

Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories—however some do fit that mold—instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle’s writing—indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.

I came across this because I am a huge fan of Cory Doctorow and he mentioned the book in an e-mail.  So far I have enjoyed the stories immensely, though I still have a few more to go.  I will be reading the first one as well at some point in the future.

Well I hope you found something here to tide you over till the next Sherlock episode!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

%d bloggers like this: