Tween Tuesday

Youth Media Awards 2017

Yesterday, the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association announced their annual awards. They give out awards in 10 different categories.  The awards range from children’s picture books to adult books that appeal to teens.  Over the next few days I will talk about the awards and who won.

The Newbery Award

The Newbery is one of the oldest and most distinguished awards given to an author.  There are 100s of books published every year for children and this committee reads them all and narrows it down to just one.  These books often go on to be maid into movies, many of them have become cherished childhood reads that we then read to out own children.  This year I think the committee did a good job, (there have been years I’ve questioned their choices.)

The winner of the 2017 Newbery medal is


A gorgeous cover to go with a gorgeous novel.  This one was on my top five list for potential winners, and I was glad it won.  See my review here.

They also give a 3-5 honors every year.  This year they gave 3 honors only one of which I have read.

I have only read the Inquisitor’s Tale (review) but have not seen anything bad about either of the other two.  I understand though that Wolf Hollow is for the upper ages of this group (12-14)

The Coretta Scott King Award

This award is given to an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:





I will do a post for the awards given in the YA categories and audiobooks later this week.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.