The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson


This is a great YA fantasy adventure with lots of romance and court intrigue with a little magic and maybe even science fiction thrown in for good measure.

Book One: The Kiss Of Deception

Summary from Goodreads:

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.
She flees on her wedding day.
kiss-of-deceptionShe steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.
She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.
She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.
The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.
Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

I read this two years ago, so my recollection of details is fuzzy, but I remember being enthralled by it.  I also remember how skillfully the author kept us guessing as to who was the assassin, sent to kill her, and the Prince she jilted at the alter.  Both show up in the town Lia has fled to, disguised as a farmer and a trader, and you aren’t really sure who is who until the assassin plays his hand.  That was what kept me reading, as well as Lia, who was a very strong character.  She really impressed me with her willingness to leave the princess thing behind and choose her own destiny.

Book Two: The Heart of Betrayal

Summary from Goodreads:

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she the-heart-of-betrayalhas the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.
Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

I read this one when it came out a year ago, so again fuzzy details.  This one was memorable for the court intrigue and in the development of Lia’s “gift”.  Lia can see into the future, but also the past.  We learn a little bit more about how the kingdoms were formed and about the Ancients. We also meet the Komizar, who is a truly villainous character, who cares nothing about the people in his kingdom.  The love triangle slowly unravels in this book, and Lia is struggling to remain strong and loyal to her kingdom, even as she falls in love with the people of Venda.  There is lots of tragedy in this book as well.

Book Three: The Beauty of Darkness

Summary from Goodreads:

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only beautyLia can stop it.
With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.
In this conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance.

I just finished this one today.  My first comment is that it is too long, almost 200 pages longer than the other two.  I’m not sure what could have been cut out to make it shorter, as there were a lot of things going on, but still…. Anyway it was a very satisfying ending to the series.  All three characters continued to grow and change under their new roles into the stronger and better adults they needed to become.  I was a little disappointed by not learning more about the Ancients which are so often mentioned in the series.  It is the Ancients and the maps that gives this series the slight science fiction mood.  It is implied that the world the author has created is our future.  The Ancients are us and the ruins that the characters often run into sound very much like skyscrapers.  Not much else is said, except that the founders of the kingdom of Morrighan, were possibly survivors of some sort of Apocalypse.  From the maps I would venture a guess of environmental proportions. There is a novella called Morrighan, which maybe gives more info. Finally, I think the covers are awesome, especially this last one. The three of them show the changes in Lia’s character.  I think book two’s cover is my favorite just because of the red dress on the blue/grey scene. Great series all in all and I was sad to see it end, but happy with the ending too.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.